Coffee

I like coffee, but recently I’ve been drinking too much of it.

A while ago, maybe a couple months now, I had gotten to the point where I didn’t need to drink coffee anymore in the morning. I was happy just to have breakfast and only use coffee as a tool to help me if I was struggling at work. I liked it that way because it felt like I wasn’t being controlled by some external force or internalized need. I felt more in control.

But at some point in the past few months, I’ve been almost needing it every day like your average American office worker. And I usually like having another cup of coffee toward the end of the day when my body starts revolting again. I’m pretty sure it’s because I’m not getting nearly as much sleep as I need (which is totally my own fault—I stay up way too late doing stuff I don’t need to be doing at night), but it still stinks. I want to get rid of my reliance on things like that that I don’t actually need.

I like using coffee as a tool instead of a requirement because then it makes me feel like a super person instead of not being able to function unless I have it. It’s all about balance. Too much of a good thing stops being good.

It doesn’t help that I got a fancy promotional cup from Dunkin’ Donuts that gets me giant $1.50 refills for the month of May, though. It’s super cool using that thing just because there’s so much coffee and they put pretty much the perfect amount of cream and sugar and stuff in there. Ugh.

Leave a Comment

